Jun 07

Incumbents rule in Mitchell City/School Board election

Incumbents easily won re-election during Tuesday’s joint Mitchell City/School Board election.

Matthew Christiansen earned 1004 votes in the school board race. Challenger Renae Gades picked up 567.

Ward One Councilor Steve Rice collected 236 votes, followed by challengers Clay Loneman with 87 votes and Sabrina Velin-Kraus with 22.

Newcomer Kevin McCardle won the one-year term in Ward Two with 246 votes followed by Tara Volesky with 71 and Christina Nath with 49.

First-timer John Doescher ran unopposed for the open three-year term in Ward Two.

Dan Allen picked up 299 votes to return for another term in Ward Three followed by challengers Blake Waddell with 97 and Edward Potzler with 25.

Susan Tjarks was the top vote-getter in Ward Four with 247 votes followed by challenger Susan Bennett with 155.

Voter turnout was a weak 13.5%

The City Council and School Board will now canvass and verify the results at upcoming meetings.

J.P. Skelly